View navigation

Haxby Group victorious at Yorkshire Humber General Practice Nursing Awards

Haxby Group was victorious at the Yorkshire and Humber General Practice Nursing Awards on Wednesday night (21 March) in York – winning two awards and being shortlisted for three others.

Haxby Group – a member practice of the NHS Vale of York Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) – won the Practice Nurse Leadership Award, while Sarah Butler scooped the Judges’ Choice Award.

Loraine Rankin, Helen Raine and Debra Smith were also shortlisted for awards. Loraine was shortlisted for the Healthcare Practitioner of the Year Award, Helen was vying for the Practice Nurse Innovator of the Year Award and Debra was a finalist in the Judges’ Choice Award category.

The accolades come two weeks after Haxby were the big winners at the Humber, Coast and Vale Sustainability Transformation Partnership (STP) edition of the awards – when they claimed five of the eight awards on offer.

Michelle Carrington, the CCG’s Executive Director of Quality and Nursing, said: “Congratulations to Haxby Group for winning the Practice Nurse Leadership award at the Yorkshire and Humber General Practice Nursing Awards which to me recognises the whole nursing team as being at the forefront of care. Loraine Rankin and Helen Raine were worthy finalists. Sarah Butler went on to win the Judges’ Choice Award for inspirational practice where Debra Smith was also in the final three.

“I attended the event and was moved and inspired by the work which goes on every day to provide the very best care to patients, families and carers. I could see that these awards mattered so much to the practice nurses and the effort which went in to the many nominations we received proved that this great care is happening beyond the award winners.

“I am really proud of all those nominations, finalists and winners and look forward to continuing to work with such great practice nurses going forward."

< Back to all news stories

Stay connected