View navigation

General practice nursing awards 2019

Celebrating General Practice Nursing Conference 2019

The Yorkshire and Humber Nursing and Quality Team, NHS England, hosted the General Practice Nurse Awards event on Thursday 21 March 2019.

Chief Nurse Michelle Carrington and the Quality Lead for Primary Care Sarah Goode supported the event alongside many Vale of York nurses and health care assistants representing Sherburn Group Practice, Priory Medical Group, Haxby Group and Millfield Surgery.

Vale of York nurses were finalists in all 5 categories and Haxby Group celebrated being first runner-up at the final event.

The celebrations were enjoyed by all and a nurse commented: “it was lovely to see so many amazing nurses who are making a difference every day in general practice. It was a very inspiring day and I have come away with many thoughts about my own practice.”

Please find through this link the presentation slides from the GPN Event on the 21st March 2019 and the link to the GPN 2018 film is available through this link. The 2019 film will be shared once signed off by NHS England Communications team.

Category Finalists and nominees
Mentorship and Preceptorship Award

Finalist: Sister Wendy Youngs, Sherburn Group Practice

Shortlisted: Philipa Norman, Haxby Group Practice

Innovation Award

Finalist: Team Millfield Nurses, Millfield Surgery

Shortlisted: Nurse and HCA surgical team, Haxby Group Practice

Integrated Working Award Finalist: INR star team, Haxby Group Practice
Driving Person Centred Care Award

Finalist: Helen Gardner, Millfield Surgery

Shortlisted: Katie Johnson, Millfield Surgery

Rising Star Award

Finalist: Daniele Arundale, Priory Medical Group

Shortlisted: Marissa Blurton, Haxby Group Practice

News from the General Practice Nursing Awards 2018

Vale of York nurses triumph at General Practice Nursing Awards

Haxby Group victorious at Yorkshire Humber General Practice Nursing Awards

Video that was presented at the General Practice Nursing award ceremonies in February and March 2018

Stay connected