About the Vale of York

Published on 19 Jul, 2016

Our footprint covers an area of approximately 857 square miles that runs broadly north to south through North Yorkshire. It is mainly rural with a number of small market towns and the main urban centre of York and it covers three local authority boundaries - North Yorkshire County Council, City of York Council and East Riding of Yorkshire Council.

The Vale of York is a comparatively affluent area but with pockets of significant deprivation in the York, Selby and Sherburn-in-Elmet areas.

Local health profile and demographics

Noticed an error or broken link? Please let us know